image

Make this your summer of reading!

Love reading but not always sure what to read next? Book-loving Brits have been turning to Bookchoice to get back into the groove.

Now Bookchoice is giving Silversurfers members a free bundle of ebooks and audiobooks to get their summer reading started – just head to Bookchoice.com/surfer18 and enter the code SURFER18.

Anyone who enjoys reading knows that everyday life can get in the way. Or that it can be hard to decide when it’s worth taking a punt on a new author. But sometimes it just takes a chance encounter to make you fall in love again – a friend’s recommendation, an intriguing B&B bookshelf, or an old paperback you stumble upon at the library.

Bookchoice decided to recreate that feeling of discovery with a monthly ebook/audiobook delivery service. It works on any smartphone, tablet, computer, ereader (including Kindles), so you can enjoy your new books wherever your travels take you this summer.

Ready to get reading? Start with some of the June and July picks:

MA’AM DARLING by Craig Brown (JUNE PICK)

Princess Margaret aroused strong feelings: to her friends, she was witty and regal. To her enemies, she was rude and demanding. Andy Warhol photographed her. Jack Nicholson offered her cocaine. Gore Vidal revered her. Pablo Picasso dreamt about her.

A wildly entertaining meditation on fame and art, snobbery and deference, bohemia and high society.

‘Heaven’ – India Knight, Sunday Times

THE MARBLE COLLECTOR by Cecilia Ahern (JULY PICK)

When Sabrina stumbles upon a mysterious collection of her father’s belongings, her seemingly uneventful life suddenly shifts. Another emotional rollercoaster from Ahern – the master of the tearjerker, and author of #1 bestseller P.S. I Love You.

‘An illuminating and touching father/daughter story about memory, childhood and secrets’ – Woman & Home

HIDDEN FIGURES by Margot Lee Shetterly (JULY PICK)

The never-before-told true story of NASA’s African-American female mathematicians who played a crucial role in winning the space race, and the book that inspired the Academy-Award Nominated film starring Taraji P Henson and Octavia Butler.

A TIME Magazine Top 10 Nonfiction Book of 2016

THE TATTOOIST OF AUSCHWITZ by Heather Morris (JUNE PICK)

For readers of Schindler’s List and The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas comes a heartbreaking love story, showing us the very best of humanity in the very worst of circumstances.

‘Extraordinary – moving, confronting and uplifting’’ – Graeme Simsion, author of The Rosie Project

MOTHER LAND by Paul Theroux (JULY PICK)

A new novel from the multi-award winning travel and fiction writer. An engrossing, hilarious and heartbreaking portrait of a modern family – the bickering, the conspiracies, and the drive to overcome the painful ties that bind.

‘Hilarious…Theroux possesses a fabulously nasty sense of humor’ – Stephen King

BORN ON THE FOURTH OF JULY by Ron Kovic (JULY PICK)

The iconic memoir, made famous by the Tom Cruise film, now with a new foreword by Bruce Springsteen. Follow the author’s life story from a patriotic soldier in Vietnam, to his severe battlefield injury, to his role as the country’s most outspoken anti–Vietnam War advocate, spreading his message from his wheelchair.

‘Classic and timeless’ – New York Times

Give it a go at  Bookchoice.com/surfer18 with the code SURFER18 and discover your next must-read (and there’s more to choose from on the site, including Wilbur Smith, Arundhati Roy, Peter Swanson and Celeste Ng).

ADVERTORIAL

Leave a Comment!

Not a member?

You need to be a member to interact with Silversurfers. Joining is free and simple to do. Click the button below to join today!

Click here if you have forgotten your password

Community Terms & Conditions

Content standards

These content standards apply to any and all material which you contribute to our site (contributions), and to any interactive services associated with it.

You must comply with the spirit of the following standards as well as the letter. The standards apply to each part of any contribution as well as to its whole.

Contributions must:

be accurate (where they state facts); be genuinely held (where they state opinions); and comply with applicable law in the UK and in any country from which they are posted.

Contributions must not:

contain any material which is defamatory of any person; or contain any material which is obscene, offensive, hateful or inflammatory; or promote sexually explicit material; or promote violence; promote discrimination based on race, sex, religion, nationality, disability, sexual orientation or age; or infringe any copyright, database right or trade mark of any other person; or be likely to deceive any person; or be made in breach of any legal duty owed to a third party, such as a contractual duty or a duty of confidence; or promote any illegal activity; or be threatening, abuse or invade another’s privacy, or cause annoyance, inconvenience or needless anxiety; or be likely to harass, upset, embarrass, alarm or annoy any other person; or be used to impersonate any person, or to misrepresent your identity or affiliation with any person; or give the impression that they emanate from us, if this is not the case; or advocate, promote or assist any unlawful act such as (by way of example only) copyright infringement or computer misuse.

Nurturing a safe environment

Our Silversurfers community is designed to foster friendships, based on trust, honesty, integrity and loyalty and is underpinned by these values.

We don't tolerate swearing, and reserve the right to remove any posts which we feel may offend others... let's keep it friendly!