image

Spring reads: 10 new thrillers to devour in less than a day

We’re a nation of crime fiction readers, with crime being the most popular book genre across the UK, according to reports from the recent London Book Fair.

Looking for some new page-turners to add to your spring reading list? Here’s our pick of 10 new thrillers that’ll keep you glued to the edge of your seat…

1. Sleep by C L Taylor

(Avon/PA)

Cally Louise Taylor, whose bestselling psychological thrillers, including The Accident, The Lie and The Fear, have sold more than a million copies in the UK alone, returns with Sleep – another gripping suspenser about an insomniac who takes a job in a hotel on a remote Scottish island to escape her past. But when seven guests join her, each holding a secret, what started as a retreat turns into a deadly nightmare.

2. Wakenhyrst by Michelle Paver

(Head of Zeus/PA)

This is a dark gothic thriller by the bestselling author of Dark Matter and Thin Air, set in Edwardian Suffolk – where an eerie manor house stands alone in a lost corner of the Fens, a glinting wilderness of water whose whispering reeds guard ancient secrets. Maud is a lonely child growing up without a mother and ruled by her repressive father. When he finds a painted medieval devil in a graveyard, unhallowed forces are awakened, and Maud finds herself battling to survive a world haunted by witchcraft and the demons of her father’s past.

3. A Book Of Bones by John Connolly

Hodder & Stoughton/PA)

Now celebrating his 20th year as an author, Connolly brings us another classic Charlie Parker tale, in which the ex-cop-turned-private investigator and his team head for England, where on a lonely moor in the northeast, the body of a young woman has been discovered. Then, other bodies are found in very particular corners of the country, where history, lore, myth and legend come together to welcome sacrifice.

4. Blood Orange by Harriet Tyce

(Wildfire/PA)

This debut novel by ex-criminal barrister Tyce, introduces 30-something criminal barrister Alison Wood, who has just landed her first murder case, defending a wealthy, middle-aged woman who was found covered in blood next to the body of her dead husband.

As Alison’s career takes off, her personal life suffers as she drinks too much and embarks on an affair – and then it seems someone knows her secret. Essential reading for fans of The Girl On The Train and Apple Tree Yard, this one is unpredictable and page-turningly good.

5. Twisted by Steve Cavanagh

(Orion/PA)

Author of the bestselling Thirteen brings us another taut, twisty thriller centring on an elusive bestselling mystery author. Very few people know who he is – and the few who know do his real identity seem to wind up dead. Now, one woman thinks she’s located him – unaware of the possible consequences. This is one to lap up in one session.

6. Run Away by Harlan Coben

(Century/PA)

Described by Dan Brown as ‘the modern master of the hook and twist’, Coben is not only a bestselling thriller writer but is also making a name for himself on Netflix. He created the TV drama mini-series Safe, starring Michael C Hall and Amanda Abbington, and is developing 14 existing titles and future projects, including his latest book, Run Away, into English language and foreign language series. This latest sees a man searching for his runaway drug-addict daughter in New York.

7. An Anonymous Girl by Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen

(Macmillan/PA)

Anyone who loved their hit debut last year – The Wife Between Us, a smasher of a thriller – should bag a copy of this riveting page-turner, in which a make-up artist seizes the chance to earn some easy money by signing up for a psychology study. It’s being carried out by a mysterious Dr Shields as part of what she thinks is a New York University study on ethics and morality. She soon discovers, though, that Dr Shields has a completely different agenda, and quickly learns that some obsessions can be deadly.

8. Stone Mothers by Erin Kelly

(Hodder & Stoughton/PA)

This is one to watch from the author of He Said/She Said, which was a featured title in the Richard & Judy Book Club. It’s tells the story of Marianne, who fled her family and boyfriend when she was 17 and now has to return to see her dementia-suffering mother. At the centre of the story is the abandoned Nazareth Hospital, once an asylum, and the chilling secret it holds.

9. The Silent Patient by Alex Michaelides

(Orion/PA)

Many thriller writers have heaped praise on this debut title from the former screenwriter, which begins when, late one night, a seemingly devoted wife shoots her husband five times and then refuses to speak another word. Enter forensic psychologist Theo Faber, who is sure he can treat the woman and find out the truth where others have failed. The film rights have been snapped up by Brad Pitt’s production company, so it’s likely to be a surefire winner.

10. Beautiful Bad by Annie Ward

(Quercus/PA)

There’s a buzz in the publishing world around this debut, which is a big psychological thriller set in suburban Kansas, where a frantic 911 call summons police to the scene of a shocking crime in the gorgeous home of Maddie and Ian and their young son. The timeline alternates between events which shaped the characters’ pasts and led to the phone call, and the book catches glimpses of Maddie, Ian, and Maddie’s former best friend, Jo, from many years ago, and finally what happens after that call.

The following two tabs change content below.

Leave a Comment!

Not a member?

You need to be a member to interact with Silversurfers. Joining is free and simple to do. Click the button below to join today!

Click here if you have forgotten your password

Community Terms & Conditions

Content standards

These content standards apply to any and all material which you contribute to our site (contributions), and to any interactive services associated with it.

You must comply with the spirit of the following standards as well as the letter. The standards apply to each part of any contribution as well as to its whole.

Contributions must:

be accurate (where they state facts); be genuinely held (where they state opinions); and comply with applicable law in the UK and in any country from which they are posted.

Contributions must not:

contain any material which is defamatory of any person; or contain any material which is obscene, offensive, hateful or inflammatory; or promote sexually explicit material; or promote violence; promote discrimination based on race, sex, religion, nationality, disability, sexual orientation or age; or infringe any copyright, database right or trade mark of any other person; or be likely to deceive any person; or be made in breach of any legal duty owed to a third party, such as a contractual duty or a duty of confidence; or promote any illegal activity; or be threatening, abuse or invade another’s privacy, or cause annoyance, inconvenience or needless anxiety; or be likely to harass, upset, embarrass, alarm or annoy any other person; or be used to impersonate any person, or to misrepresent your identity or affiliation with any person; or give the impression that they emanate from us, if this is not the case; or advocate, promote or assist any unlawful act such as (by way of example only) copyright infringement or computer misuse.

Nurturing a safe environment

Our Silversurfers community is designed to foster friendships, based on trust, honesty, integrity and loyalty and is underpinned by these values.

We don't tolerate swearing, and reserve the right to remove any posts which we feel may offend others... let's keep it friendly!