image

Silversurfers Book Club Summer 2020

Welcome to the Silversurfers Book Club!

Each season we share a selection of popular book titles and new releases which you may like to read as part of our Silversurfers Book Club.

How and when you read is up to you; you can choose to read them on a tablet or an actual paperback, and you can read them in your own time.

When you’ve finished reading, join us in the comments section below this post and write a review of the book and share your feedback with others who have read along too.

To get you started, below are some suggested titles to kick off the new Summer 2020 Silversurfers Book Club Season… Simply select the title you would like to read, and if you would like to buy it or download it for your Kindle or other tablets, there is a link next to the book title, which will direct you to Amazon, making it simple for you to buy.

Alternatively, you may wish to buy the book elsewhere, or borrow it from your local library.

SIMPLY CLICK ON THE IMAGE OF THE BOOK YOU FANCY AND YOU WILL BE DIRECTED TO THE BOOK ON AMAZON … most titles are around £6 to purchase and less on a Kindle!

If you have previously read another book and would like to recommend it as a future read for the Silversurfers book club, feel free to leave the title and author in the comments section, with a brief synopsis, and your review.

The Lightless Sky by Gulwali Passarlay – Editors Top Pick

Book Synopsis

A Twelve-Year-Old Refugee’s Extraordinary Journey Across Half the World

After his father and grandfather were killed by U.S. troops for allegedly cooperating with the Taliban, Gulwali Passarlay fled Afghanistan with his brother in the middle of the night, with only a hastily packed rucksack and little more than 200 dollars in his pocket. He was twelve years old, and this is his story.

The first book to tell the modern refugee crisis from a firsthand perspective, The Lightless Sky is an unforgettable chronicle of Gulwali’s yearlong odyssey from Afghanistan to England, during which he traveled more than 12,000 miles, escaped internment in Turkey and Bulgaria, and negotiated passage with shadowy agents in the smuggling trade. Told in unflinching and memorable detail, The Lightless Sky is at once an utterly absorbing personal history and a stunning testament to the power of the human spirit; the triumph of faith, courage, and determination; and the undeniable universal right to life, liberty, and security of person.

The Silent Patient by Alex Michaelides

Book Synopsis

Alicia:

Alicia Berenson writes a diary as a release, an outlet – and to prove to her beloved husband that everything is fine. She can’t bear the thought of worrying Gabriel, or causing him pain.

Until, late one evening, Alicia shoots Gabriel five times and then never speaks another word.

Theo:

Forensic psychotherapist Theo Faber is convinced he can successfully treat Alicia, where all others have failed. Obsessed with investigating her crime, his discoveries suggest Alicia’s silence goes far deeper than he first thought.

And if she speaks, would he want to hear the truth?

The Silent Patient was the gripping must-read debut thriller of 2019 – perfect for fans of The Woman in the Window by A.J. Finn, Thirteen by Steve Cavanagh and The Girl Before by J.P. Delaney.

Tidelands by Philippa Gregory 

Book Synopsis

The Brand New Series From The Sunday Times Number One Bestselling Author

England 1648. A dangerous time for a woman to be different…

Midsummer’s Eve, 1648, and England is in the grip of civil war between renegade King and rebellious Parliament. The struggle reaches every corner of the kingdom, even to the remote Tidelands – the marshy landscape of the south coast.

Alinor, a descendant of wise women, crushed by poverty and superstition, waits in the graveyard under the full moon for a ghost who will declare her free from her abusive husband. Instead she meets James, a young man on the run, and shows him the secret ways across the treacherous marsh, not knowing that she is leading disaster into the heart of her life.

Suspected of possessing dark secrets in superstitious times, Alinor’s ambition and determination mark her out from her neighbours. This is the time of witch-mania, and Alinor, a woman without a husband, skilled with herbs, suddenly enriched, arouses envy in her rivals and fear among the villagers, who are ready to take lethal action into their own hands.

Escape to the French Farmhouse

 

Book Synopsis

Can Del find her recipe for happiness?

Del and her husband Ollie moved to a beautiful village in Provence for a fresh start after years of infertility struggles. But six weeks after they arrive, they’re packing the removal van once more. As Del watches the van leave for England, she suddenly realises exactly what will make her happier…a new life in France – without Ollie.

Now alone, all Del has is a crumbling farmhouse, a mortgage to pay and a few lavender plants. What on earth is she going to do? After discovering an old recipe book at the market run by the rather attractive Fabian, Del starts to bake. But can her new-found passion really help her let go of the past and lead to true happiness?

A heart-warming tale about reclaiming your life, set amongst the lavender fields of Provence. Perfect escapism from the author ofLate Summer in the Vineyard and The Honey Farm on the Hill.

The Perfect Couple by Jackie Kabler

Book Synopsis

The perfect couple … or the perfect lie?

A devoted wife…
A year ago, Gemma met the love of her life, Danny. Since then, their relationship has been perfect. But one evening, Danny doesn’t return home.

A missing husband…
Gemma turns to the police. She is horrified by what she discovers – a serial killer is on the loose in Bristol. When she sees photos of the victims she is even more stunned…they all look just like Danny.

Who would you believe?
But the police are suspicious. Why has no one apart from Gemma heard from Danny in weeks? Why is there barely a trace of him in their flat? Is she telling them the truth, or is this marriage hiding some very dark secrets?

Girl, Woman, Other by Bernardine Evaristo

Book Synopsis

Longlisted for the Women’s Prize for Fiction 2020

Joint Winner of the Booker Prize 2019

Teeming with life and crackling with energy – a love song to modern Britain and black womanhood.

Girl, Woman, Other follows the lives and struggles of twelve very different characters. Mostly women, black and British, they tell the stories of their families, friends and lovers, across the country and through the years.

Joyfully polyphonic and vibrantly contemporary, this is a gloriously new kind of history, a novel of our times: celebratory, ever-dynamic and utterly irresistible.

ENJOY YOUR READING AND DON’T FORGET WE’D LOVE TO READ YOUR VIEWS BELOW … HAPPY READING!

 

Leave a Comment!

Not a member?

You need to be a member to interact with Silversurfers. Joining is free and simple to do. Click the button below to join today!

Click here if you have forgotten your password
Mari50
29th Jul 2020
0
Thanks for voting!
I have read Tidelands by Philippa Gregory and like all her books, this is beautifully written and the reader feels as though they are actually there. Well I do. I have a lot of Philippa Gregory books as she is one of my favourite authors. Looking forward to her next one
Ronmthorn
23rd Jul 2020
0
Thanks for voting!
Really enjoyed The Silent Patient, kept me in the dark right till the end.
jackiedp
26th Jul 2020
0
Thanks for voting!
Yes it had a great twist at the end !

Community Terms & Conditions

Content standards

These content standards apply to any and all material which you contribute to our site (contributions), and to any interactive services associated with it.

You must comply with the spirit of the following standards as well as the letter. The standards apply to each part of any contribution as well as to its whole.

Contributions must:

be accurate (where they state facts); be genuinely held (where they state opinions); and comply with applicable law in the UK and in any country from which they are posted.

Contributions must not:

contain any material which is defamatory of any person; or contain any material which is obscene, offensive, hateful or inflammatory; or promote sexually explicit material; or promote violence; promote discrimination based on race, sex, religion, nationality, disability, sexual orientation or age; or infringe any copyright, database right or trade mark of any other person; or be likely to deceive any person; or be made in breach of any legal duty owed to a third party, such as a contractual duty or a duty of confidence; or promote any illegal activity; or be threatening, abuse or invade another’s privacy, or cause annoyance, inconvenience or needless anxiety; or be likely to harass, upset, embarrass, alarm or annoy any other person; or be used to impersonate any person, or to misrepresent your identity or affiliation with any person; or give the impression that they emanate from us, if this is not the case; or advocate, promote or assist any unlawful act such as (by way of example only) copyright infringement or computer misuse.

Nurturing a safe environment

Our Silversurfers community is designed to foster friendships, based on trust, honesty, integrity and loyalty and is underpinned by these values.

We don't tolerate swearing, and reserve the right to remove any posts which we feel may offend others... let's keep it friendly!