image

Win ONE of TEN copies of MONSOON SUMMER by Julia Gregson!

Win ONE of TEN copies of MONSOON SUMMER from bestselling author Julia Gregson.  She returns with this compelling love story set in India – perfect for fans of Dinah Jefferies and Santa Montefiore.

ABOUT THE BOOK

A compelling story of love, adventure, and the secrets that follow us, wherever we go…

Oxfordshire, 1947. Exhausted by the war and nursing a tragic secret, Kit Smallwood flees to Wickam Farm to recuperate. There she throws herself into helping Daisy set up a charity sending midwives to India.

Daisy’s plan is fraught with danger. With newly-acquired Independence, many of India’s people furiously resent the English for withdrawing so quickly, blaming them for the riots that left millions dead. When Kit meets Anto, a handsome, complicated but charming trainee doctor nearing the end of his English education, she falls utterly in love.

Anto makes her laugh and marriage should be the easiest thing in the world.  But when he informs his family that he is shortly to return home with an English bride, his parents are appalled. Despite being Anglo-Indian herself, Kit’s own mother is equally horrified. She has spent most of her life trying to erase a painful past and losing her daughter to an Indian man is her worst fear realized.

As they journey to a new life in India, Kit begins to realize the seriousness of what she has undertaken. Thrown into the heart of a traditional Indian family in a rapidly changing world, Kit has much to learn about the nature of home and the depth of her love for Anto.

Praise for Monsoon Summer

‘I adored this wonderful story… Astonishingly good’ – Dinah Jefferies, author of THE TEA PLANTER’S WIFE

‘Heartbreaking poignant love story set in post-war India’ – HEAT Magazine

‘A sweeping romance between a young Indian doctor and a British midwife.’ – Good Housekeeping

The results are in!

Congratulations to our winner
Jane Sephton, Cherry Edwards, Yvonne Frost, Julie Benjamin, Alison Forbes, Nigel Jackson, Eleanor Maddocks, Caroline Fender, Brian Kurn, and Cyndy Dixon
We will contact you via email to assist in claiming your prize!

Thank you to all who entered, and good luck with our other competitions!

Leave a Comment!

Not a member?

You need to be a member to interact with Silversurfers. Joining is free and simple to do. Click the button below to join today!

Click here if you have forgotten your password
Avril55
20th Sep 2017
0
Thanks for voting!
oh for a good read, sounds like my type of book, could even lay back in Croatia with this
boo2410
17th Sep 2017
0
Thanks for voting!
I've never read anything by this author so would love a chance to read this book.
Barpedder
14th Sep 2017
0
Thanks for voting!
Not read any of this author
majulie
13th Sep 2017
0
Thanks for voting!
I love reading it relaxes me 🙂
CWhittington
13th Sep 2017
0
Thanks for voting!
I love reading fiction and look forward to this one.
PatsyM2
12th Sep 2017
0
Thanks for voting!
I think I have read books but Julie Gregson before and enjoyed them, sure this will be excellent, fingers crossed!
KarenS3
12th Sep 2017
0
Thanks for voting!
Looking forward to reading this beautiful book!
KarenS3
12th Sep 2017
0
Thanks for voting!
I am looking foward to reading this beautiful book.
JackieC73
12th Sep 2017
0
Thanks for voting!
would love a copy of this book x
Caro66
12th Sep 2017
0
Thanks for voting!
I love India and anything related .
I am sure I would enjoy this book
Kathleen F
12th Sep 2017
0
Thanks for voting!
I need a nice book.
Judy Bristow
12th Sep 2017
0
Thanks for voting!
Sounds interesting - my sort of plot!
ceb
12th Sep 2017
0
Thanks for voting!
Sounds like a good read - fingers crossed.
Kiara
12th Sep 2017
0
Thanks for voting!
Hope am lucky. Looks like a really good read and as I spent my childhood years in India will be very interesting to read.
Anne Mcneill
12th Sep 2017
0
Thanks for voting!
Looks like a really good read
Dickens
12th Sep 2017
1
Thanks for voting!
Sounds right up my street, and just in time for my holidays.
Fingers crossedxxxxx
Norma D
12th Sep 2017
0
Thanks for voting!
Sounds like a great book.
LadyG
12th Sep 2017
0
Thanks for voting!
Good luck everyone
ElaineS54
11th Sep 2017
0
Thanks for voting!
Looks a good read.
irishsurfer
10th Sep 2017
0
Thanks for voting!
Good luck to all of us
tinydancer
9th Sep 2017
0
Thanks for voting!
This looks a great story
Eloc50
9th Sep 2017
0
Thanks for voting!
Sounds good, need a new book.
Gradyj
9th Sep 2017
0
Thanks for voting!
Sounds like a good read.
Angie95
9th Sep 2017
0
Thanks for voting!
Great giveaway, nothing like curling up with a good book
May 38
8th Sep 2017
0
Thanks for voting!
My kind of reading
jennytwoshoes
8th Sep 2017
0
Thanks for voting!
Sounds an interesting read
Salphil24a
8th Sep 2017
0
Thanks for voting!
Love books, love India so this sounds perfect!
SueT558
8th Sep 2017
0
Thanks for voting!
judelark
8th Sep 2017
0
Thanks for voting!
Perhaps it's my turn this time .
ginnydoey
8th Sep 2017
0
Thanks for voting!
SandraS8
8th Sep 2017
0
Thanks for voting!
Could do with a good read. This sounds great!
warship1
8th Sep 2017
0
Thanks for voting!
Saves yet another trip to the library,
robsueread
8th Sep 2017
0
Thanks for voting!
A good read I hope.
junentony
8th Sep 2017
0
Thanks for voting!
Who doesn't love a romantic read
mulberrydave13
8th Sep 2017
0
Thanks for voting!
Sounds like a good holiday read
kurna
8th Sep 2017
0
Thanks for voting!
One for my partner I think
Diggyblu
8th Sep 2017
0
Thanks for voting!
Sounds a great read!
Sharon2
8th Sep 2017
0
Thanks for voting!
Sounds a good one for our monthly book club meeting
62bigal
8th Sep 2017
0
Thanks for voting!
It looks as if it has a good storyline
Debs1958
8th Sep 2017
0
Thanks for voting!
Going on holiday soon so would make for a good read whilst I'm relaxing.
Mapgoog
8th Sep 2017
0
Thanks for voting!
A possible future read for our Book Group?
ShelaghC2
8th Sep 2017
0
Thanks for voting!
suegalway
8th Sep 2017
0
Thanks for voting!
Very interested in this as I live in Oxfordshire. Sounds like a cracking story!
TeresaS5
8th Sep 2017
0
Thanks for voting!
Sounds like a good read - especially relevant this year on the anniversary of independence
Theoldgirl
3rd Sep 2017
0
Thanks for voting!
Sounds like a good book to read
Ava2008
3rd Sep 2017
1
Thanks for voting!
Would love to win a copy to read on my upcoming holiday. Really enjoyed the Tea Planter's Wife. Good luck everyone!
Jean177
31st Aug 2017
0
Thanks for voting!
Sounds another great read .
EileenW35
28th Aug 2017
0
Thanks for voting!
Whether at home or abroad you can't beat relaxing with a good book. (fingers crossed)
Rosy123
28th Aug 2017
0
Thanks for voting!
it would be a very big surprise for me if I won anything!!!
hatters
28th Aug 2017
0
Thanks for voting!
Would love to win just going on holiday do love a good book
ColleenG4
26th Aug 2017
0
Thanks for voting!
Oo really fancy this one!!!!
SandraS8
25th Aug 2017
0
Thanks for voting!
Would love to own this book!
aminata
25th Aug 2017
0
Thanks for voting!

Community Terms & Conditions

Content standards

These content standards apply to any and all material which you contribute to our site (contributions), and to any interactive services associated with it.

You must comply with the spirit of the following standards as well as the letter. The standards apply to each part of any contribution as well as to its whole.

Contributions must:

be accurate (where they state facts); be genuinely held (where they state opinions); and comply with applicable law in the UK and in any country from which they are posted.

Contributions must not:

contain any material which is defamatory of any person; or contain any material which is obscene, offensive, hateful or inflammatory; or promote sexually explicit material; or promote violence; promote discrimination based on race, sex, religion, nationality, disability, sexual orientation or age; or infringe any copyright, database right or trade mark of any other person; or be likely to deceive any person; or be made in breach of any legal duty owed to a third party, such as a contractual duty or a duty of confidence; or promote any illegal activity; or be threatening, abuse or invade another’s privacy, or cause annoyance, inconvenience or needless anxiety; or be likely to harass, upset, embarrass, alarm or annoy any other person; or be used to impersonate any person, or to misrepresent your identity or affiliation with any person; or give the impression that they emanate from us, if this is not the case; or advocate, promote or assist any unlawful act such as (by way of example only) copyright infringement or computer misuse.

Nurturing a safe environment

Our Silversurfers community is designed to foster friendships, based on trust, honesty, integrity and loyalty and is underpinned by these values.

We don't tolerate swearing, and reserve the right to remove any posts which we feel may offend others... let's keep it friendly!