image

Do you check customer reviews before buying something online?

New research shows more than half of us consult online reviews and customer feedback before buying goods and services.

Good reviews and top ratings draw in customers, and also help businesses land higher results in online searches. Online reviews are so important that businesses have been known to plant reviews by employees, pay strangers who have never been customers to write five-star reviews, and even sabotage their competitors by the posting of harsh, negative reviews.

So do you trust everything you read?  What type of goods, services or products do you check reviews for?  Which websites do you trust the most to reflect honest feedback from genuine customers? Do you write reviews yourself?

Do you check customer reviews before buying something online?

339 people have already voted, what's your opinion? Yes No

What are your views?

We'd love to hear your comments

Not a member?

You need to be a member to interact with Silversurfers. Joining is free and simple to do. Click the button below to join today!

Click here if you have forgotten your password
Marley444
14th Jul 2015
1
Thanks for voting!
Yes I do .. don't always believe all I read but usually get an overview from others
Wurzel
11th Jul 2015
1
Thanks for voting!
free information....why not use it.
Baxi
29th Jun 2015
1
Thanks for voting!
I like to see how other people like a place, product or restaurant. I use Trip Advisor a lot and it's very helpful.
magselias
29th Jun 2015
1
Thanks for voting!
Although I do check reviews I tend to treat them with caution. Negative reviews can be made out of spite and I have had some wonderful service from sites that have had some very acid comments. It could be of course that they have improved because of the comments who knows 🙂
Alex2015
25th Jun 2015
2
Thanks for voting!
I always check on-line reviews for any product or holiday but must say that I recently bought a new landline telephone because of the reviews and it doesn't work very well at all. I tend to look at the negative reviews now as they tend to be more honest.
Dickens
25th Jun 2015
2
Thanks for voting!
Yes I often check customer reviews, before booking holidays ect or buying goods, you can usually get a good idea if you read a few of them. I also write reviews on trip advisor myself, and try very hard to be totally honest.
Judianne
24th Jun 2015
1
Thanks for voting!
I won't be taking much notice of them any more, as company's are paying people to add them........
Wilf
23rd Jun 2015
4
Thanks for voting!
Yes and I seem to be doing it more and more. I always have a look at reviews when I am looking at Amazon and especially if a book has a lot then I look at the overall ratings and will also have a look at some of the individual comments. I see the picture above is on Trip Advisor. I am a bit sceptical about that site as I have read quite a lot about hotels for example putting comments up about their own hotels and then also putting bad ones up about competitors under fictitious names. But in many cases there are so many reviews you can get a good idea if a hotel is good or bad. I think reviews are excellent after all it keeps many companies on their toes and if they do provide terrible service it soon becomes apparent and they need to change their ways or their sales will suffer.
Marley444
23rd Jun 2015
2
Thanks for voting!
I must say, I do look at Trip Advisor if I book a holiday and also I read the Amazon product reviews and also Ocado customer comments on food, so I guess I must be in the 50% that do. I usually trust what I read, apart from some of the Amazon comments when the reviews seem to be too over the top, although it is very tricky to know who is honest and who is not.

Community Terms & Conditions

Content standards

These content standards apply to any and all material which you contribute to our site (contributions), and to any interactive services associated with it.

You must comply with the spirit of the following standards as well as the letter. The standards apply to each part of any contribution as well as to its whole.

Contributions must:

be accurate (where they state facts); be genuinely held (where they state opinions); and comply with applicable law in the UK and in any country from which they are posted.

Contributions must not:

contain any material which is defamatory of any person; or contain any material which is obscene, offensive, hateful or inflammatory; or promote sexually explicit material; or promote violence; promote discrimination based on race, sex, religion, nationality, disability, sexual orientation or age; or infringe any copyright, database right or trade mark of any other person; or be likely to deceive any person; or be made in breach of any legal duty owed to a third party, such as a contractual duty or a duty of confidence; or promote any illegal activity; or be threatening, abuse or invade another’s privacy, or cause annoyance, inconvenience or needless anxiety; or be likely to harass, upset, embarrass, alarm or annoy any other person; or be used to impersonate any person, or to misrepresent your identity or affiliation with any person; or give the impression that they emanate from us, if this is not the case; or advocate, promote or assist any unlawful act such as (by way of example only) copyright infringement or computer misuse.

Nurturing a safe environment

Our Silversurfers community is designed to foster friendships, based on trust, honesty, integrity and loyalty and is underpinned by these values.

We don't tolerate swearing, and reserve the right to remove any posts which we feel may offend others... let's keep it friendly!